Taylor Swift ‘Wonderstruck’ eau de Parfum

 

I am very enthusiastic about my freebies and samples and am forever filling in forms to get freebies. It is so exciting when I get them in the mail and I do get to try so many things that I otherwise would never have heard of or tried so it does the job for the company too as often I am then tempted to go out and buy the full sized product after trying it.

This was one of my many perfume samples that I received through the mail. I have to say I wasn’t expecting much as so many of these young pop stars feel the need to add their name to perfumes and create their own ‘brand’ and they are usually pleasant but often pretty forgettable in my view.

My sample came in a cardboard folded ‘book’ with a small 1.5ml spray bottle of the perfume inside so it was enough for a two or three good uses. I love these little sample bottles as they are perfect for when we travel as I can put a few in my suitcase and a couple in my bag (the airport security doesn’t seem to pick them up) and it means I get to smell nice and once the little sample is finished I throw away the bottle and as we come home I have none left so have plenty of room for buying things when we are away ( fat chance as my husband doesn’t do shops).
‘Who is Taylor Swift ?’ I asked as I opened my sample and husband had no idea, step son said some girl singer from the USA – not his scene. So I had to find out for myself. She is a pretty young blonde singer song writer who achieved ‘fame’ in 2006, she appears to be more country style as she has been honored in the Nashville Hall of fame and has sold an astounding 26 million albums!!
Her perfume ‘Wonderstruck’ was created as something she had always wanted to do since a young teen.
“It’s a line from my song ‘Enchanted,’ and the line says, ‘I’m wonderstruck, blushing all the way home. I’ve always loved that line and that phrase, ‘wonderstruck.’ You don’t hear it very often. So I just felt like if I ever got the chance to make a fragrance, which I’ve dreamed of doing since I was about 14 years old … Ever since I wrote that song, I thought that would be the title. And I’d want to create a fragrance that smelled the way that word feels.”
Needless to say Taylor swift was not actually the creator the perfume was launched in cooperation with the Elizabeth Arden and the actual scent created by Olivier Gillotin of Givaudan.

THE BOTTLE
This is a fairly plain looking purple coloured rounded bottle with a gold lid. Around the lid is a chain with a few charms which does look a bit young teenager in my view and as such it probably would not have been attracted to buy myself as I am a touch older than the age I feel this is aimed towards.

The bottle reminds me of Britney Spears and other teen aimed scents with a simple rounded shape and the rather bling like charms which look like ones you might buy a child to wear for dressing up. I think it would appeal to young teens because of this. Strangely the ‘book’ cover my sample came in is quite classy with gold highlights and a deep and blue design a bit like wall paper. I think the cardboard cover is similar in design to the box the bottle comes in.

THE SCENT
Top notes: Raspberry, dewberry, green tea, freesia, apple blossom,
Middle notes: vanilla, honeysuckle, white hibiscus,
Base notes: amber, musk and sandalwood,and peach

I used to absolutely love Body Shop’s Dewberry fragrance and this does have a very fruity initial blast with both raspberry and dewberry and it does remind me a bit of the old Bodyshop scent at first. The fruity scent stays as the peachiness comes in strongly as well despite being listed as a base note.
I am a huge fan of the creaminess of vanilla and in this it brings a creamy quality to the fruitiness. The hibiscus listed I can’t detect but hibiscus doesn’t smell, or at least all those I have ever grown have never smelled of much really.
The green tea note is also not easily detectable as the fruity sweet notes develop with the base notes on amber and sandalwood and musk to just become deeper, warmer and more creamy fruity sweet scents. To me it is a fruity sweet rather young although quite uplifting and pleasant sort of scent. It isn’t offensive yet is also not one that I will be rushing to but as it is a young smell. I think it must be the tea note that lifts it above sickly and cloying as it could become that very easily. This is definitely in the fruity and youthful and feminine group of perfumes.
It was happy enough to wear it for the few days my sample lasted and did quite like the fragrance but not enough to make me want to buy a larger bottle. This is a young and very feminine scent make no mistake. It will not appeal to those who favour more masculine smells. I find it quite light and refreshing though and one that suits summery sort of weather. I found it lasted well on me a good few hours on my skin and longer on my clothes as I could still detect it the next day on my top.

Looking around on line I find that prices vary as always but the price seem to be around 30ml costing £20 ,50ml for £29 and if you are really keen then 100ml will set you back about £38 . This is not too expensive and possibly because it is aimed at a younger market or maybe because it has rather more synthetic ingredients as these tend to be cheaper.

Freesia

This is a pleasant enough light fruity scent that I would be perfectly happy to wear during the day when out and about. I don’t think it is one I would choose for a special night out. It is the kind of perfume I like to use on the plane as it is quite strong enough to stay with me and yet light enough not to be sickly. I hate smelling of plane so do always have some perfume with me to try and counter the plane smell and this one is the kind that works well. I usually lather myself from the Duty free and then take some samples with me to spray on after a few hours to freshen up.

Leave a comment