Marc Jacobs Divine Decadence Eau de Parfum

Marc-Jacobs-Divine-Decadence-Gift-Set-50ml-0071662

This little sample was given to me by the lovely lady in Debenhams when I last visited. I do like Marc Jacobs perfumes so was very happy with this one. With a name like ‘Decadence’ I was expecting great things from this one.

I spotted the beautiful packaging on my daughter’s dressing table when I was staying with her and thought how original it was.

~*~*~*~*~*~ ABOUT MARC JACOBS ~*~*~*~*~*~

Marc Jacobs was born and brought up in New York and is a fashion designer. He has worked as a designer for Luis Vuitton but now has his own fashion label and fashion house. By 2013, there were 285 Marc Jacobs retail stores in 60 countries.

Marc Jacobs has his own range of fashion, watches, bags,beauty products and of course perfumes.

~*~*~*~*~*~ ABOUT DECADENCE ~*~*~*~*~*~

Unlike other Marc Jacobs perfumes this is a far more mature sort of bottle and fragrance. Decadence is sexy, sensual and sophisticated. The fragrance as created by by Annie Buzantian who has created a few perfumes for Estee lauder and almost all Marc Jacobs fragrances and also Ann Gottlieb who has created many fragrances for Calvin Klein, Impulse, Coty and of course Marc Jacobs.

The face of the campaign shot by Steven Meisel is Adriana Lima who is a Brazilian model and actress, who worked as a Victoria’s Secret Angel since 1999, as a spokes model for Maybelline cosmetics since 2003 and also for being in the Super Bowl and Kia Motors commercials.

117245900899

~*~*~*~*~*~ THE PACKAGING ~*~*~*~*~*~

I have to admit I love Marc Jacobs packaging and creative bottles, they are cute, quirky and very original.

This perfume comes in a beautiful, very classy bottle design and looks like an emerald green handbag with python pattern, gold chain and black tassel. You lift the handbag open and the spray is underneath.

Not only I this very unusual but it is also dark coloured so keeps the contents away from light which can alter the scent after some time. It does mean you don’t know when you are coming to the end of the bottle though.

It looks like it is a green padded bag with a black patent flap that open the bag and gold chain to carry the bag with! It looks like a mini evening bag.

This is available in The fragrance is available as 30ml, 50ml and 100 ml Eau de Parfum.

The outer box is a shimmery, almost velvet looking green colour with just the brand and perfume name on the front. This is luxurious looking but in a more minimalist way

IMG_0259[1]

~*~*~*~*~*~ THE NOTES ~*~*~*~*~*~

Top notes: plum, iris, saffron
Middle notes: Bulgarian rose, jasmine sambac and orris
Base notes : amber, vetiver and papyrus

~*~*~*~*~*~ MY EXPERIENCE AND VIEWS ~*~*~*~*~*~

I love this perfume, it has the usual Mac Jacobs sweetness but with a deeper more sensual aroma. It tarts off fruity and sweet but not at all cloying and no fresh notes so the saffron must be adding that hint of savoury so it doesn’t smell too sweet.

After around an hour or so the more exotic floral notes develop which are lovely and so feminine and this lasts for good length of time.

Later the base notes begin to develop and these are the aromas I can smell the next day on my clothes and these are deeper and warmer. I love the smell of vetiver, it is one of my go- to essential oils and amber is also one I love but cannot say I recognise papyrus, it guess it is kind of papery or grass like.

I found the sillage to be good and had a few compliments when wearing this. It lasts really well on my skin, several hours later I can still smell it on my skin and the next day on any clothes I sprayed it on smelled great .

It of kind of remind me of La Nuit Tresor in its feminine sweet yet sensual aroma. It is very feminine and not in any way unisex as it is sweet, fruity and yet not sugary and teenagery at all.

This is one I would love to buy a full bottle of but as I have a drawer full of unopened perfumes and also several opened ones that I really need to use before justifying purchasing any new perfumes.

~*~*~*~*~*~ BUYING THIS ~*~*~*~*~*~

As always prices do vary so shop around and don’t forget cashback sites and using your loyalty cards if you have them.

Boots have 30 ml for £49 ,50 ml for £69 and 100 ml for £98 and they also have a shower gel of 150 ml for £34.

Debenhams have 30ml ,50 ml,100 ml for the same prices as Boots.

Allbeauty on line has the shower gel for £22.95. 30 ml for £37.95, the 50 ml for £49.95 and the 100 ml for £69.95 so much cheaper than Boots and Debenhams.

~*~*~*~*~*~ RECOMMENDED? ~*~*~*~*~*~

Yes I do like this one and would buy it and hope it might go down in price in future. It is a lovely feminine fragrance that had great sillage and lasts really well on me. It isn’t cheap but none of Marc Jacobs fragrances are cheap sadly !

Leave a Reply

