Miu Miu EDP – more like EDT

73178w

Last week while in Derby I managed to blag a few samples from the lady at the perfume counter in Debenhams and this was one of the half dozen she handed to me. I admit hadn’t heard of this one before so was quite intrigued and keen to get home and try it.

I love these small spray samples as I keep them in my bag when travelling to freshen up and ty add no weight at all. I have also found that they can slip through airport security too which means I can have them in my handbag for the plane and not have to get my carry on bag down from the storage above to find my plastic ziplock bag of liquids down.

~~~&&&~~~ ABOUT MIU MIU ~~~&&&~~~
This seems to me to be a fashion brand selling bags and accessories and this is their first venture in fragrance. Miu Miu seems to also be tied to Coty and is a subsidiary of Prada and the head designer is Muiccia Prada the granddaughter of Mario Prada, the founder of Prada.

IMG_0141[1]

~~~&&&~~~ CREATING THIS PERFUME ~~~&&&~~~
This perfume was released in August 2015 and was created by perfumer Danielle Roche Andrier, who has also created perfumes for Prada, Bvlgari, Marni and Bottega Veneta.

Miu Miu was designed t be a fragrance which is “ unique, youthful, bright colors and sophisticated.”
This perfume has a special ingredient called akigalawood, which was created by Givaudan and is similar to patchouli but with notes of pepper and the woodiness of oud which sounds like my perfect scent to me.

It also starts with the floral notes of lily of the valley, jasmine and rose and then develops into the akigalawood notes.
The face of the perfume in their advertising campaign is actress Stacy Martin.

IMG_0139[1]

~~~&&&~~~ THE PACKAGING ~~~&&&~~~
This perfume comes in a box which is a a rectangular representation of the inner flacon. It is a turquoise blue colour glass bottle supposedly inspired by the particular design of the high end luxury Miu Miu’s matelassé leather bags. The turquoise flacon uses that same design pattern as the bags and this comes up to the neck of the bottle which is is white, with the brand logo,the rather oddly in my view there is a bright red plastic round stopper which I think looks out of place and a bit cheap and nasty. Personally I am not a fan of their bags either which is fortunate considering the price!

The only positive is that the bottle is opaque which does protect the perfume from light damage, although I keep my perfumes in their boxes in a drawer not on my dressing table as this keeps them cooler and out of the light and both heat and light damage perfumes and alter their scent as well as sometimes evaporating the contents.

nd.31468
~~~&&&~~~&&& BUYING THIS PERFUME ~~~&&&~~~

This perfume comes in 30ml, 50ml and 100 ml Eau de Parfum and then a 200ml body lotion , a 200ml shower gel and finally 150 ml body cream.
John Lewis have the 30 ml for £44.10, the 50 ml for £61.20 and the 100ml for £86.40
Boots have the 30 ml for £49, the 50 ml for £68 and the 100ml for £96
http://www.fragrancex.com has a 10 ml roller ball version for £17.63, 50 ml for £43.50 and the 100 ml for £64.07.

As always look around and compare prices and don’t forget postage can make a difference and of course check if you can get any cashback through whichever site you are a member of.
~~~&&&~~~ TAKING NOTE ~~~&&&~~~

Top notes : lily of the valley, lime and lemon
Middle notes: jasmine, rose, green notes, blackcurrant and peach
Base notes : akigalawood, musk

IMG_0138[1]
~~~&&&~~~ MY VIEWS ~~~&&&~~~

I have to admit that the packaging does nothing for me at all , it looks like a play perfume that chidren would like with colours that are not ones I associate with classy.
Having got over the packaging my first spray hit was very fruity floral and quite sweet and fresh, pleasant but not really a classic one. My first impression was a light summery fragrance which I would be happy to wear but would not go out o my way to buy it for myself . It is a young scent more than one for mature ladies. This is no way one that is unisex.

After an hour or so it had faded really fast and I could barely detect it on my skin at all . It has less lasting power than an EDT, in fact I have had body sprays which last longer.
Th sillage is also very weak which makes it a good one to freshen up on a train or plane as it certainly won’t offend anyone nearby. I did wonder if I was my nose getting a bit used to the scent but my husband said he couldn’t smell it on me sitting in the same room and in fact struggled to smell it on my wrist. He said it just smells clean like I usually smell!!

So it is a fresh floral opening a bit like a walk into the garden in the morning to sniff the lily of the valley and lemon trees . This very quickly settles and jasmine hints with a slight rose aroma. After this very subtle aroma from the basenote Akigalwood with its pepper and patchouli is detectable while I can’t smell musk at all. The dry down is very nice but far too subtle for me, I like to be able to smell my perfume a bit longer than an hour. Even sticking my wrist under my nose I can barely smell this just an hour later.
I feel this is one that might appeal to a younger lady than me. I do like the scent and the notes really appeal but some how the designers have managed to drain a lot of the scent from this so it is far too subtle, more like a body spray in its lasting quality and silage.

IMG_0140[1]

~~~&&&~~~ RECOMMENDED ~~~&&&~~~
While I am no fan of the packaging I can see it might appeal to others. I can see this appealing to younger ladies. It is not unisex scent at all, it is light, fresh and very feminine but not too sweet which is good as so many of these fruity florals are a bit sickly sweet for me. This doesn’t have that problem but it is very light and I feel it hasn’t got the lasting qualities I would hope to get from a perfume and for the price you have to pay for this.

Leave a Reply

